mruvula

Working on it

My Favorite Moments: #12 – Batman Saves Gotham One More Time

Yes, as an adult, I am an avid fan of video games. Sometimes I play them for the mindless fun. Sometimes, I do it for nostalgic reasons, as certain games remind me of my childhood. And other times, I play them for the story.

The Batman: Arkham series has some of the greatest interactive stories ever told. I played Arkham Asylum, Arkham City, and finally, Arkham Knight. It showed both the skills and intelligence of Batman, but also his limitations as a man. Batman is not gifted with unlimited super powers like Superman. He has to train to gain the strength and fighting skills to beat his opponents. But also on the mental side, he has to study both his opponents and surroundings to learn more about them. All that and more is what makes him the greatest superhero of all time.

Batman does whatever it takes to protect the people of Gotham from the evil that infests it. There are no limits to the lengths he’ll go to do so.

Here, the Scarecrow is preparing to release a deadly toxin into Gotham. Batman lets him go because he has Barbara Gordon hostage somewhere. In the mean time, he has to figure a way to stop the toxin from being released. He studies the room and sees that if he inserts the neutralizing agents in the canisters, he can decrease the blast radius of the toxin. But there’s a price. The canisters have to be slowly inserted. To insert all four, he won’t have enough time to escape the blast radius. It’s a suicide mission…

Alfred is begging Batman to leave, but he’s not having any of it. He has to save the people of Gotham.

“It’s what you taught me. Do the right thing. That’s all that matters.”

“Goodbye, Alfred.”

Oh my god. I was in my mid thirties when I played this, and I cried at this part. No one will know the sacrifice he’s making. And he made the decision with no hesitation! Quoting the Dark Knight, he’s the hero Gotham deserves, but not the hero they need right now.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 24, 2017 by in Moments, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
